Today, at the local farmer’s market in Zurich, Switzerland, I bought: 2 salmon steaks, 5 clementines from Spain, 3 apples, 1 large parsnip, 1 small bunch cilantro called korriander here, (I’m making sofrito tonight), 8 red carrots, 2 bunches lettuce-one red, one green, both look like flower bouquets, which is why I bought them, 1 bunch lettuce cabbage looking, 6 leaves purple chard, it’s not called Swiss chard here (Ha!), 1 Spanish onion, 2 medium tomatoes, 2 baking potatoes, and 12 farm fresh eggs with orange yolks.  I’ve got to say Swiss eggs are the best we’ve ever tasted.

Plus

Yummy baguette, donut balls, and nut bread.

Hubby swears the donut balls taste like Clyde’s. True Chicagoans over 20 remember Clyde’s Donuts over on the West Side. How does this compra (Puerto Rican for groceries) compare to USA prices? You tell me.

2 thoughts on “50chf at the Farmers’ Market

  1. I know this is late, but it’s the first chance I got to really see the food. I have to say, the arrangement and colors are very pleasing. It makes me want to paint it. Is it worth the money? Only you can say. I too want to go grocery shopping when I come. yummy bagette.

    Like

Leave a Reply

